Direct Rail

MerseyRail coverage

MerseyRail Updates



Merseyrail operate on the Wirral and Northern Lines within Merseyside, one of the most punctual and reliable railway networks in the UK, with consistently high scores for customer satisfaction,

Merseyrail run up to 800 trains per day and carry around 100,000 passengers on an average week day. There are 66 stations on the Mersey rail network, 4 of which are underground in the city centre, giving easy access to surrounding facilities and amenities.

The Merseyrail network covers 75 route miles of track, 6 ½ miles are underground and services go through the original Mersey railway tunnel which opened in 1886. Outer terminuses are at Southport, Ormskirk, Kirkby and Hunts Cross on the Northern Line and New Brighton, West Kirby, Chester and Ellesmere Port on the Wirral Line.

Merseyrail operate a ‘clock face’ regular interval timetable and trains are every 15 minutes and 5 minutes in the city centre.

With Direct Rail you can search for MerseyRail train times and book a MerseyRail train ticket simply and securely online - and all at the lowest prices!

Popular MerseyRail train stations